And so the adventure begins!

I’ve been thinking about joining the Peace Corps for about three years, and it’s hard to believe the time has actually come to begin my service. I leave for Nicaragua tomorrow!

Over the next 27 months, I’ll be writing about my experience, my “Nicaragua notes” if you will, on this blog. I don’t know exactly where I’ll be living, what part of the country I’ll be in or what my internet access will be, but I’ll do my best to update the blog as much as possible. I’ll be sharing my stories, photos, videos and anything else I think you (my family, friends, future PCVs or anyone else who may stumble on this site) may want to know about. As someone who studied journalism as an undergrad, at the very least I hope my stories will entertain you! But I also hope you will learn a little bit more about Nicaragua, the challenges of living in a developing country, and what a commitment to service of this kind entails.

Now to some stuff you’re probably wondering about. Over the last year, I’ve answered a lot of questions regarding my decision to join the Peace Corps. Here’s what I’ve figured out: I wholeheartedly believe in the mission and the goals of the Peace Corps (which are to help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women, help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served, and help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans). I am committing to 27 months of service to the people of Nicaragua in an attempt to carry out these goals. With the hope, of course, that I’ll learn a thing or two along the way.

One thing I realized in college was that some of the happiest times of my life occurred while in a foreign country, learning a new language, meeting new people and immersed in a new culture. As I wrote in my first Peace Corps essay over a year ago, I am motivated by the idea of helping others, and learning from them in the process. By serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer, I hope I will continue to develop a greater understanding of self, a greater understanding of the world, and a renewed sense of commitment to solving global issues.

At the moment I’m excited, nervous, anxious, motivated, but most of all, ready! I’ve chopped off my hair, packed my bags with everything (I think) I’ll need for two years, spent two months traveling across the U.S. seeing friends and family, and spent the last week binging on my favorite American food (definitely will miss deep dish pizza). I hope you’ve enjoyed getting to know why I’m embarking on this crazy journey, and hope you stay tuned to my blog to find out the next chapter in my Nicaraguan Peace Corps adventure!

Hasta pronto…

-Alyssa

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”
Confucius

